The vertical longitude lines are also known as meridians. They converge at the poles and are widest at the equator. Zero degrees longitude is located at Greenwich, England (0°). The degrees continue 180° east and 180° west where they meet and form the International Date Line in the Pacific Ocean.

The equator is located at 0 degrees latitude. It is 24,901.55 miles (40,075.16km) long. The equator divides the planet into the Northern and Southern Hemispheres.
latitude lines run horizontally. Latitude lines are also known as parallels since they are parallel and are an equal distant from each other. To remember latitude, imagine them as the horizontal rungs of a ladder ("ladder-tude"). Degrees latitude are numbered from 0° to 90° north and south. Zero degrees is the equator, the imaginary line which divides our planet into the northern and southern hemispheres. 90° north is the North Pole and 90° south is the South Pole
Category: 1 comments

1 comment:

Dyllis said...

This is great info to know.